sisters, girls, field @ Pixabay

The Commander format has been a staple of Magic: The Gathering for years now, but it’s never been without controversy. One of the biggest controversies in recent memory is whether or not planeswalkers can be your commander. Today we’re going to talk about that question and see what Wizards have said on the matter! For those who don’t know, “commander” refers to one card that you choose from your deck at any time during a game as the ultimate goal-often called just “the General”. All other cards are built around supporting this general by generating resources, defending them, or attacking opponents directly-that is if you want more than one strategy available to you when playing with fewer players. I’m sure most of you are aware of our Commander’s origins. The format was born out of rules questions from players who wanted to use a planeswalker as their General, and Wizards responded with the “Commander” card type that debuted in the Commander (2011 Edition) set. All other cards are built around supporting this general by generating resources, defending them, or attacking opponents directly-that is if you want more than one strategy available to you when playing with fewer players. I’m sure most of you are aware of our Commander’s origins. The format was born out of rules questions from players who wanted to use a planeswalker as their General, and Wizards responded with the “Commander” card type that debuted in the Commander (2011 Edition) set.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here